VESKOF Quality Requirements according to Swiss-Seed Rules

and additional information concerning the seed trade with Switzerland


1.
In Switzerland the fodder crop production plays a key role
, milk and meat are the main products of our agriculture.

For decades the Swiss seed trade has imposed especially high requirements on seed sold in Switzerland. In April 1984 these requirements were published as VESKOF Rules (VESKOF = Vereinigung Schweizerischer Kontrollfirmen für landwirtschaftliche und Gemüsesämereien, later called VSSJ = Verband Schweizerischer Saatgut- und Jungpflanzenfirmen and from 1 January 2007 on Swiss-Seed = Swiss Association for seed trade and plant breeders' rights). Since then they have been known and established as Swiss Rules world-wide. Therefore, following the name changes of the association the name VESKOF has been retained and registered as a protected trademark (date of registration: 08. 31.1999). Thus, the VESKOF Rules are a protected quality label. Together with the well adjusted mixture prescriptions published by the Swiss Federal Research Stations in the "Agricultural standard mixtures" and the exclusive use of top selections according to the "Recommended variety list", the VESKOF Rules have contributed to the world-wide recognition of the superior quality level of the Swiss fodder crop production.

2. Legal basis
The requirements for seed traded in Switzerland are specified in the Enactment of the Federal Department of National Economy on agricultural and fodder crop species dated 07.12.1998 and the Amendments of 22.12.1999, 08.03.2002 and 02.05.2005. The VESKOF Rules are based on this Federal Decree specifying the legal minimum but demand enhanced requirements in particular for germination, purity of seed in general and especially concerning large leafed dock species (Rumex crispus, Rumex obtusifolius).

Contracts between a Swiss importing company and its foreign supplier are basically subject to the ISF rules and usages (International Seed Federation).

3. Sampling
Seed sampling has to be done according to the ISTA Procedures (International Seed Testing Association).

4.
Recently, there were complaints about seed which met the Rules of the European Community as well as the VESKOF Rules but contained seed of plant species which did not exist in Switzerland up to this date (e.g. Johnson grass and Amaranthus). To prevent propagation of such alien species, the Swiss importer may demand upon mutual agreement with the supplier seed which is free from any seed of such alien species.

5.
Absence of large leafed dock species according to VESKOF Rules
(10 grains per kilogram): The maximum number of grains of large leafed dock species (Rumex crispus, Rumex obtusifolius) applies to the minimum sample size according to VESKOF shown in the last column of the tables (chapter 6).

  tested weight number max.
of Rumex graines
Small seeded grasses
Poa spp., Agrostis spp., Phleum spp., etc.
50 g 0
Other grasses
Festuca spp., Lolium spp., Dactylis glomerata, etc.
100g 1
Clovers
Lotus spp., Medicago spp., Trifolium spp.
200g 2
Exception: White clover, Trifolium repens 100g

1

 

If, for example, 1 grain of rumex is found in a sample of 50 g of small seeded grasses we recommend to analyze several samples to be able to declare that the lot contains maximum 10 grains of large leafed rumex per kilogram supported by statistical verification.

6.
Quality requirements VESKOF for agricultural seeds. 

Swiss Association for seed trade and plant breeders' rights

Contact

Swiss-Seed
Postfach 344
8401 Winterthur

+41 58 433 76 90 swiss-seed@swiss-seed.ch

Exigences de qualité VESKOF selon les normes Swiss-Seed

et autres informations concernant le commerce des semences avec la Suisse


1.
La production fourragère
 joue un rôle principal en Suisse, le lait et la viande étant les plus importantes productions.

Depuis plusieurs dizaines d'années, le commerce des semences suisse s'impose des exigences élevées pour toutes les semences vendues en Suisse. Ces exigences ont été publiées sous le nom de "normes VESKOF" en avril 1984 pour la dernière fois (VESKOF = Vereinigung Schweizerischer Kontrollfirmen für landwirtschaftliche und Gemüsesämereien, plus tard VSSJ = Verband Schweizerischer Saatgut- und Jungpflanzenfirmen et dès le 1er janvier 2007 Swiss-Seed = Association Suisse du commerce des semences et de la protection des obtentions végétales). Sous la dénomination " Swiss Rules " ces normes sont aussi reconnues et ont fait leurs preuves dans le monde entier. C'est pour cette raison que malgré les changements de nom de l'organisation, il a été décidé de maintenir le sigle VESKOF et de le déposer comme marque protégée (date d'inscription 31.08.1999). Les normes VESKOF sont ainsi un label de qualité protégé. Avec les "mélanges standard pour la production fourragère" publiés par les stations fédérales de recherches agronomiques et l'emploi exclusif des meilleures obtentions selon la "liste des variétés recommandées de plantes fourragères", les normes VESKOF ont largement contribué au haut niveau de qualité, internationalement reconnu, de la production fourragère suisse.

2. 
Bases légales

Les exigences concernant les semences commercialisées en Suisse sont définies dans l'Ordonnance du Département fédéral de l'économie publique sur les semences et les plants des espèces de grandes cultures et de plantes fourragères (Ordonnance du DFE sur les semences et plants) du 7 décembre 1998, avec les modifications du 22.12.1999, du 08.03.2002 et du 02.05.2005. Les normes VESKOF se basent sur cette ordonnance décrivant les exigences minimales légales et prescrivent des mesures plus sévères surtout en ce qui concerne la faculté germinative, la pureté et le nombre maximal de graines de rumex à grandes feuilles.

Les contrats d'achat et de vente entre l'importateur suisse et le fournisseur étranger sont conclus en principe sur la base des "Règles et usages de la ISF" (International Seed Federation).

3.
Echantillonnage
Les " Règles internationales pour le contrôle de semences " de l'ISTA (International Seed Testing Association) sont applicables pour l'échantillonnage. 

4.
Dernièrement il y a eu des contestations pour des semences correspondant aux
normes de l'UE et de la VESKOF, mais contenant des semences d'autres espèces de plantes qui n'étaient pas présentes en Suisse jusqu'à ce jour (par ex. sorgho d'Alep et Amaranthus spp). Pour éviter la propagation de nouvelles espèces pouvant créer des problèmes, l'importateur suisse peut d'un commun accord avec le fournisseur demander des semences exemptes de graines de ces espèces étrangères.

5.
Exempt de Rumex selon les normes VESKOF (10 graines / kg) 
Le nombre maximal autorisé de graines de rumex à grandes feuilles (Rumex crispus, R. obtusifolius) se rapporte à la grandeur minimale de l'échantillon selon les normes VESKOF. La grandeur minimale de l'échantillon varie en fonction des espèces et figure dans la dernière colonne de la tabelle (voir point 6). 

  Poids d'analyse Nombre max. de rumex
Graminées à petites semences
Poa spp., Agrostis spp., Phleum spp., etc.
50 g 0
Autres graminées
Festuca spp., Lolium spp., Dactylis glomerata, etc.
100g 1
Légumineuses fourragères
Lotus spp., Medicago spp., Trifolium spp.
200g 2
Exception: Trèfle blanc, Trifolium repens 100g 1

 

Si on trouve dans 50 g de graminées à petites semences 1 graine de rumex, nous recommandons de répéter l'analyse sur plusieurs échantillons afin de pouvoir affirmer sur des bases statistiques éprouvées que le lot contient au maximum 10 graines de rumex par kilo.

6.
Exigences qualitatives VESKOF pour les semences agricoles.

Association Suisse du commerce des semences et de la protection des obtentions végétales

Contact

Swiss-Seed
Postfach 344
8401 Winterthur

+41 58 433 76 90 swiss-seed@swiss-seed.ch